Invoice Koi Free generator

Invoice Koi vs Joist

Two subscriptions. Compare what each one buys.

Joist starts at $10 a month for Basics, with no free plan. Invoice Koi is about US$8.33 a month, billed yearly, with every feature on one plan.

Last checked 7 September 2026. US list prices.

Make an invoice free

On Google Play now. Coming soon to iPhone. Have the app? Open it

Joist or Invoice Koi?

The features that make Joist worth it are not the ones in the price you were quoted.

Choose Joist if

  • You need change orders, work orders and contracts, which Invoice Koi does not build.
  • You want to offer homeowners financing on a big job.
  • You want Tap to Pay on site.

Choose Invoice Koi if

  • You send more than five invoices a month.
  • You want every feature on the plan you subscribe to, not a tier above it.
  • You want estimates, jobs, receipts and time without any of it metered.

What Joist is good at

Joist is built for contractors and it shows. Work orders, change orders, client contracts, license and insurance details on the document, and homeowner financing are all things a builder actually asks for, and most of this list has never heard of them.

The catch

Basics is five invoices a month, and almost everything in the paragraph above sits on a plan higher than the one on the front of the pricing page. Its plan cards and its own comparison grid also disagree, so check the plan before you pay.

The ten rows that decide it

What each one's cheapest plan holds.
Feature Invoice Koi Joist
Best for One person invoicing from a phone, between jobs Contractors who need change orders and financing
What it costs Subscription, with a free trial where your store offers one $10 a month for Basics
Invoices No cap 5 a month
Estimates or quotes No cap in the 5
Clients No cap capped
Invoices free of vendor branding Included Included
Accept card payments Included Included
Receipt scanning Included Not stated
Jobs and job organization Included On a higher plan
Users on the account 1 user, crew plans add seats Number not stated
Web access Not offered Included
Sync and backup across devices Included Included
All 59 features, and the tier each one sits in

A paid tier includes its own free tier, so a mark means available at that price or below. Of the 59, 15 are better here, 13 better in Joist, 9 tied, and 22 neither, or not stated.

Invoice Koi's subscription against Joist's cheapest way in. A paid tier includes its own free tier, so a mark means available at that price or below.
Feature Invoice Koisubscription Joist$10 a month for Basics Who has it
Documents
Invoices ○ 5 a month Tied
Estimates or quotes ○ in the 5 Tied
Clients ○ capped Tied
Turn an estimate into an invoice ○ ○ Tied
Recurring invoices ○ · Not stated
Credit notes ○ · Not stated
Work orders – ▲ Them
Change orders – ▲ Them
Client contracts – ▲ Them
Document or project templates ○ ▲ Invoice Koi
Price book of saved items ○ ▲ Invoice Koi
How the document looks
Your logo on the document ○ ▲ Invoice Koi
Your brand or accent color ○ ▲ Invoice Koi
Choice of templates ○ · Not stated
Invoices free of vendor branding ○ ○ Tied
Rename the field labels ○ · Not stated
Photos and attachments ○ ▲ Invoice Koi
Terms and conditions block ○ · Not stated
License and insurance details – ▲ Them
Your own signature ○ · Not stated
Client e-signature ○ · Not stated
Getting paid
Accept card payments ○ ○ Tied
Bank transfer or ACH – · Not stated
Tap to Pay in person – ▲ Them
Deposits or milestone payments ○ ▲ Invoice Koi
Record partial payments ○ · Not stated
Pass processing fees to the client – ▲ Them
Tips – · Not stated
Automatic payment reminders ○ · Not stated
Overdue alerts to you ○ · Not stated
Know the invoice was opened – · Not stated
A link the client opens ○ · Not stated
Client statements ○ · Not stated
Homeowner financing – ○ Them
Lending or capital for you – ▲ Them
Running the business
Expense tracking ○ ▲ Invoice Koi
Receipt scanning ○ · Not stated
Time tracking ○ · Not stated
Jobs and job organization ○ ▲ Invoice Koi
Schedule visits or a calendar ○ ▲ Invoice Koi
Routing or GPS – – Neither
Reports ○ ▲ Invoice Koi
Export CSV, spreadsheet or PDF ○ · Not stated
Accounting sync – ▲ Them
Bank feed import – · Not stated
Barcode scanner – · Not stated
Leads or a CRM – ▲ Them
Track client activity ○ ▲ Invoice Koi
Request client reviews – ▲ Them
A marketing site for you – ▲ Them
An AI assistant ○ ▲ Invoice Koi
Voice note into an invoice ○ – Invoice Koi
Read a document and answer on it ○ – Invoice Koi
Account and scale
Mobile app ○ ○ Tied
Web access – ○ Them
Sync and backup across devices ○ ○ Tied
Users on the account 1 user, crew plans add seats ○ Tied
More than one business ○ · Not stated
Priority support one to two days ▲ Invoice Koi
  • ● In the free tier
  • ○ In the cheapest paid plan
  • ▲ Only on a higher plan
  • – Not offered
  • · Not stated on their page
  • 3 a month Included, but capped or charged at this rate

What is free, and what the subscription buys

Setting up your business and writing drafts is free. Issuing an invoice, estimate or receipt needs a subscription. Eligible new iOS subscribers: two weeks free on annual, one week on weekly. Nothing starts until you confirm the purchase. Without a trial, the displayed price applies immediately.

Before you subscribe Drafts nothing is issued yet
  • Install the app and set up your business
  • Add your clients and your price book
  • Write drafts of invoices and estimates
Subscription US$99.99/year about US$8.33 a month, billed yearly or US$9.99/week, US App Store solo prices
  • Send unlimited invoices, estimates and receipts
  • Cloud storage for every photograph, on any phone
  • Unlimited AI scanning of receipts and documents
  • AI voice notes into invoices, no daily limit
  • Priority support, in one to two working days

US App Store solo prices. Prices and offers vary by country and store. Your local price appears in the app before purchase. Renews automatically until cancelled in your store account settings. Your records stay yours. After expiry, view, export or resend issued records and record or collect outstanding payments. New documents need a subscription or eligible trial, except where existing access is preserved. Existing customers keep their promised core document access.

Switching from Joist

If Joist can export your clients or items as a spreadsheet (CSV), Invoice Koi reads the file, matches the columns by their headings and only ever adds: nothing already on your phone is removed. You can do it before you subscribe.

Common questions

Is Invoice Koi cheaper than Joist?

Both charge to send. As checked on 7 September 2026, Joist's cheapest way in is $10 a month for Basics. Invoice Koi is free to set up and draft in, and sending is an annual solo plan at US$99.99 billed yearly (about US$8.33 a month), or a weekly solo plan at US$9.99 billed weekly (US App Store prices). The app shows your local price from the store, with any free trial you are eligible for, before you buy.

What does Invoice Koi include that Joist puts on a higher plan?

13 of the 59 features compared are in Invoice Koi's subscription and only on a higher Joist plan, including “Document or project templates”, “Price book of saved items” and “Your logo on the document”.

What does Joist do that Invoice Koi does not?

13 things, including “Work orders”, “Change orders” and “Client contracts”. If one of those is what you need, Joist is the better pick.

Does Invoice Koi take card payments?

Yes. After Stripe setup, Koi can collect card payments online through a payment link. Koi charges 0.35% with a subscription, or 0.7% + $0.10 without one, plus Stripe processing fees. Payments recorded manually have no Koi fee.

Draft first, subscribe to send

Draft free. Subscribe to send unlimited invoices with your own logo and no watermark.

Make an invoice free

On Google Play now. Coming soon to iPhone. Have the app? Open it

iPhone and iPad, iOS 16.4 or later.

Where these numbers come from

Every Joist cell was read from their own pricing page on 7 September 2026, at US list prices in US dollars. Joist's plan cards disagree with its own comparison grid on unlimited clients and work orders. This column follows the plan cards, because those are what a buyer is shown at the moment of paying. Unlisted features and rates are marked as not stated. Platform fees are separate from processor fees. Report a correction.

Product names and logos belong to their owners. This comparison is not endorsed by or affiliated with Joist.