Invoice Koi vs Bookipi
Check invoice limits and payment fees.
Bookipi is free for 3 invoices a month, then $7.60 a month for Starter. Invoice Koi is about US$8.33 a month, billed yearly, with every feature on one plan.
Last checked 7 September 2026. US list prices.
On Google Play now. Coming soon to iPhone. Have the app? Open it
Bookipi or Invoice Koi?
Bookipi is free for a slow month. Invoice Koi is a subscription for a busy one.
Choose Bookipi if
- You want Tap to Pay on your phone without paying for a plan.
- You send fewer than three documents a month and want the widest free feature set.
- You want client contracts and a marketing page.
Choose Invoice Koi if
- You send more than three documents a month and would rather pay for no count than work inside one.
- You want receipts, expenses and time on the same phone.
- You want the app to work with no signal.
What Bookipi is good at
Bookipi is a genuinely good free app and this is the closest comparison on the list. It gives away card payments, Tap to Pay, client contracts and e-signature, and it is honest about being free.
The catch
Three documents a month. That is the whole of the free tier, and three is a slow week rather than a slow month for most of the trades this app is for.
The ten rows that decide it
Switch between the free plans and the cheapest paid plans.
All 59 features, and the tier each one sits in
A paid tier includes its own free tier, so a mark means available at that price or below. Of the 59, 1 are better here, 4 better in Bookipi, 23 tied, and 31 neither, or not stated.
| Feature | Invoice Koisubscription | Bookipifree for 3 invoices a month | Who has it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Documents | |||
| Invoices | ○ | 3 a month | Tied |
| Estimates or quotes | ○ | ● | Tied |
| Clients | ○ | · | Not stated |
| Turn an estimate into an invoice | ○ | ● | Tied |
| Recurring invoices | ○ | ● | Tied |
| Credit notes | ○ | ● | Tied |
| Work orders | – | · | Not stated |
| Change orders | – | · | Not stated |
| Client contracts | – | ● | Them |
| Document or project templates | ○ | ● | Tied |
| Price book of saved items | ○ | · | Not stated |
| How the document looks | |||
| Your logo on the document | ○ | ● | Tied |
| Your brand or accent color | ○ | ● | Tied |
| Choice of templates | ○ | ● | Tied |
| Invoices free of vendor branding | ○ | ● | Tied |
| Rename the field labels | ○ | · | Not stated |
| Photos and attachments | ○ | · | Not stated |
| Terms and conditions block | ○ | · | Not stated |
| License and insurance details | – | · | Not stated |
| Your own signature | ○ | ● | Tied |
| Client e-signature | ○ | 3 a month | Tied |
| Getting paid | |||
| Accept card payments | ○ | ● | Tied |
| Bank transfer or ACH | – | · | Not stated |
| Tap to Pay in person | – | ● | Them |
| Deposits or milestone payments | ○ | ● | Tied |
| Record partial payments | ○ | · | Not stated |
| Pass processing fees to the client | – | · | Not stated |
| Tips | – | · | Not stated |
| Automatic payment reminders | ○ | ● | Tied |
| Overdue alerts to you | ○ | ● | Tied |
| Know the invoice was opened | – | · | Not stated |
| A link the client opens | ○ | · | Not stated |
| Client statements | ○ | · | Not stated |
| Homeowner financing | – | · | Not stated |
| Lending or capital for you | – | · | Not stated |
| Running the business | |||
| Expense tracking | ○ | · | Not stated |
| Receipt scanning | ○ | · | Not stated |
| Time tracking | ○ | · | Not stated |
| Jobs and job organization | ○ | ● | Tied |
| Schedule visits or a calendar | ○ | ● | Tied |
| Routing or GPS | – | · | Not stated |
| Reports | ○ | · | Not stated |
| Export CSV, spreadsheet or PDF | ○ | ● | Tied |
| Accounting sync | – | · | Not stated |
| Bank feed import | – | · | Not stated |
| Barcode scanner | – | · | Not stated |
| Leads or a CRM | – | · | Not stated |
| Track client activity | ○ | · | Not stated |
| Request client reviews | – | · | Not stated |
| A marketing site for you | – | ● | Them |
| An AI assistant | ○ | ● | Tied |
| Voice note into an invoice | ○ | · | Not stated |
| Read a document and answer on it | ○ | – | Invoice Koi |
| Account and scale | |||
| Mobile app | ○ | ● | Tied |
| Web access | – | ● | Them |
| Sync and backup across devices | ○ | ● | Tied |
| Users on the account | 1 user, crew plans add seats | ● | Tied |
| More than one business | ○ | · | Not stated |
| Priority support | one to two days | · | Not stated |
- ● In the free tier
- ○ In the cheapest paid plan
- ▲ Only on a higher plan
- – Not offered
- · Not stated on their page
- 3 a month Included, but capped or charged at this rate
What is free, and what the subscription buys
Setting up your business and writing drafts is free. Issuing an invoice, estimate or receipt needs a subscription. Eligible new iOS subscribers: two weeks free on annual, one week on weekly. Nothing starts until you confirm the purchase. Without a trial, the displayed price applies immediately.
- Install the app and set up your business
- Add your clients and your price book
- Write drafts of invoices and estimates
- Send unlimited invoices, estimates and receipts
- Cloud storage for every photograph, on any phone
- Unlimited AI scanning of receipts and documents
- AI voice notes into invoices, no daily limit
- Priority support, in one to two working days
US App Store solo prices. Prices and offers vary by country and store. Your local price appears in the app before purchase. Renews automatically until cancelled in your store account settings. Your records stay yours. After expiry, view, export or resend issued records and record or collect outstanding payments. New documents need a subscription or eligible trial, except where existing access is preserved. Existing customers keep their promised core document access.
Switching from Bookipi
If Bookipi can export your clients or items as a spreadsheet (CSV), Invoice Koi reads the file, matches the columns by their headings and only ever adds: nothing already on your phone is removed. You can do it before you subscribe.
Common questions
Is Invoice Koi cheaper than Bookipi?
As checked on 7 September 2026, Bookipi's free plan allows 3 invoices a month, and its cheapest paid plan is $7.60 a month for Starter. Invoice Koi is free to set up and draft in, and sending is an annual solo plan at US$99.99 billed yearly (about US$8.33 a month), or a weekly solo plan at US$9.99 billed weekly (US App Store prices). The app shows your local price from the store, with any free trial you are eligible for, before you buy. If Bookipi's free plan is enough for you, it costs less than any subscription.
What does Bookipi do that Invoice Koi does not?
Four things, including “Client contracts”, “Tap to Pay in person” and “A marketing site for you”. If one of those is what you need, Bookipi is the better pick.
Does Invoice Koi take card payments?
Yes. After Stripe setup, Koi can collect card payments online through a payment link. Koi charges 0.35% with a subscription, or 0.7% + $0.10 without one, plus Stripe processing fees. Payments recorded manually have no Koi fee.
Draft first, subscribe to send
Draft free. Subscribe to send unlimited invoices with your own logo and no watermark.
On Google Play now. Coming soon to iPhone. Have the app? Open it
iPhone and iPad, iOS 16.4 or later.
Where these numbers come from
Every Bookipi cell was read from their own pricing page on 7 September 2026, at US list prices in US dollars. Bookipi is read from its published plan comparison. Unlisted features and rates are marked as not stated. Platform fees are separate from processor fees. Report a correction.
Product names and logos belong to their owners. This comparison is not endorsed by or affiliated with Bookipi.