Invoice Koi vs Invoice Simple
Two subscriptions. Compare what each one buys.
Invoice Simple starts at $6.99 a month for Essentials, with no free plan. Invoice Koi is about US$8.33 a month, billed yearly, with every feature on one plan.
Last checked 7 September 2026. US list prices.
On Google Play now. Coming soon to iPhone. Have the app? Open it
Invoice Simple or Invoice Koi?
A paid plan that still counts your invoices is a trial with a direct debit attached.
Choose Invoice Simple if
- You want to know the moment a client opens the invoice, which Invoice Koi cannot tell you.
- You work mostly at a desk and want the browser version.
Choose Invoice Koi if
- You send more than three invoices a month, which is all their cheapest paid plan allows.
- You want receipts, expenses and time on the same phone as the invoicing.
- You want the nine templates, your logo and your color without a plan above you.
What Invoice Simple is good at
Invoice Simple earns its name. It is quick to understand, the documents look tidy, and it is one of the few here that tells you when a client has opened the invoice.
The catch
The counting does not stop when you start paying. Essentials is the cheapest way in and it still meters what you send, so the thing you bought the plan to do is the thing it keeps score of.
The ten rows that decide it
| Feature | Invoice Koi | Invoice Simple |
|---|---|---|
| Best for | One person invoicing from a phone, between jobs | A few invoices a month, mostly from a desk |
| What it costs | Subscription, with a free trial where your store offers one | $6.99 a month for Essentials |
| Invoices | No cap | 3 a month |
| Estimates or quotes | No cap | Cap not stated |
| Clients | No cap | Not stated |
| Invoices free of vendor branding | Included | Included |
| Accept card payments | Included | Included |
| Receipt scanning | Included | Not offered |
| Jobs and job organization | Included | Not offered |
| Users on the account | 1 user, crew plans add seats | Number not stated |
| Web access | Not offered | Included |
| Sync and backup across devices | Included | Included |
All 59 features, and the tier each one sits in
A paid tier includes its own free tier, so a mark means available at that price or below. Of the 59, 15 are better here, 2 better in Invoice Simple, 9 tied, and 33 neither, or not stated.
| Feature | Invoice Koisubscription | Invoice Simple$6.99 a month for Essentials | Who has it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Documents | |||
| Invoices | ○ | 3 a month | Tied |
| Estimates or quotes | ○ | ○ | Tied |
| Clients | ○ | · | Not stated |
| Turn an estimate into an invoice | ○ | ○ | Tied |
| Recurring invoices | ○ | · | Not stated |
| Credit notes | ○ | · | Not stated |
| Work orders | – | · | Not stated |
| Change orders | – | · | Not stated |
| Client contracts | – | · | Not stated |
| Document or project templates | ○ | · | Not stated |
| Price book of saved items | ○ | ○ | Tied |
| How the document looks | |||
| Your logo on the document | ○ | · | Not stated |
| Your brand or accent color | ○ | · | Not stated |
| Choice of templates | ○ | ▲ | Invoice Koi |
| Invoices free of vendor branding | ○ | ○ | Tied |
| Rename the field labels | ○ | · | Not stated |
| Photos and attachments | ○ | ▲ | Invoice Koi |
| Terms and conditions block | ○ | · | Not stated |
| License and insurance details | – | · | Not stated |
| Your own signature | ○ | ▲ | Invoice Koi |
| Client e-signature | ○ | ▲ | Invoice Koi |
| Getting paid | |||
| Accept card payments | ○ | ○ | Tied |
| Bank transfer or ACH | – | · | Not stated |
| Tap to Pay in person | – | · | Not stated |
| Deposits or milestone payments | ○ | ▲ | Invoice Koi |
| Record partial payments | ○ | · | Not stated |
| Pass processing fees to the client | – | · | Not stated |
| Tips | – | · | Not stated |
| Automatic payment reminders | ○ | ▲ | Invoice Koi |
| Overdue alerts to you | ○ | · | Not stated |
| Know the invoice was opened | – | ○ | Them |
| A link the client opens | ○ | · | Not stated |
| Client statements | ○ | · | Not stated |
| Homeowner financing | – | · | Not stated |
| Lending or capital for you | – | · | Not stated |
| Running the business | |||
| Expense tracking | ○ | – | Invoice Koi |
| Receipt scanning | ○ | – | Invoice Koi |
| Time tracking | ○ | – | Invoice Koi |
| Jobs and job organization | ○ | – | Invoice Koi |
| Schedule visits or a calendar | ○ | – | Invoice Koi |
| Routing or GPS | – | – | Neither |
| Reports | ○ | ▲ | Invoice Koi |
| Export CSV, spreadsheet or PDF | ○ | · | Not stated |
| Accounting sync | – | – | Neither |
| Bank feed import | – | – | Neither |
| Barcode scanner | – | · | Not stated |
| Leads or a CRM | – | – | Neither |
| Track client activity | ○ | · | Not stated |
| Request client reviews | – | · | Not stated |
| A marketing site for you | – | – | Neither |
| An AI assistant | ○ | – | Invoice Koi |
| Voice note into an invoice | ○ | – | Invoice Koi |
| Read a document and answer on it | ○ | – | Invoice Koi |
| Account and scale | |||
| Mobile app | ○ | ○ | Tied |
| Web access | – | ○ | Them |
| Sync and backup across devices | ○ | ○ | Tied |
| Users on the account | 1 user, crew plans add seats | ○ | Tied |
| More than one business | ○ | · | Not stated |
| Priority support | one to two days | · | Not stated |
- ● In the free tier
- ○ In the cheapest paid plan
- ▲ Only on a higher plan
- – Not offered
- · Not stated on their page
- 3 a month Included, but capped or charged at this rate
What is free, and what the subscription buys
Setting up your business and writing drafts is free. Issuing an invoice, estimate or receipt needs a subscription. Eligible new iOS subscribers: two weeks free on annual, one week on weekly. Nothing starts until you confirm the purchase. Without a trial, the displayed price applies immediately.
- Install the app and set up your business
- Add your clients and your price book
- Write drafts of invoices and estimates
- Send unlimited invoices, estimates and receipts
- Cloud storage for every photograph, on any phone
- Unlimited AI scanning of receipts and documents
- AI voice notes into invoices, no daily limit
- Priority support, in one to two working days
US App Store solo prices. Prices and offers vary by country and store. Your local price appears in the app before purchase. Renews automatically until cancelled in your store account settings. Your records stay yours. After expiry, view, export or resend issued records and record or collect outstanding payments. New documents need a subscription or eligible trial, except where existing access is preserved. Existing customers keep their promised core document access.
Switching from Invoice Simple
If Invoice Simple can export your clients or items as a spreadsheet (CSV), Invoice Koi reads the file, matches the columns by their headings and only ever adds: nothing already on your phone is removed. You can do it before you subscribe.
Common questions
Is Invoice Koi cheaper than Invoice Simple?
Both charge to send. As checked on 7 September 2026, Invoice Simple's cheapest way in is $6.99 a month for Essentials. Invoice Koi is free to set up and draft in, and sending is an annual solo plan at US$99.99 billed yearly (about US$8.33 a month), or a weekly solo plan at US$9.99 billed weekly (US App Store prices). The app shows your local price from the store, with any free trial you are eligible for, before you buy.
What does Invoice Koi include that Invoice Simple puts on a higher plan?
Seven of the 59 features compared are in Invoice Koi's subscription and only on a higher Invoice Simple plan, including “Choice of templates”, “Photos and attachments” and “Your own signature”.
What does Invoice Simple do that Invoice Koi does not?
Two things: “Know the invoice was opened” and “Web access”. If one of those is what you need, Invoice Simple is the better pick.
Does Invoice Koi take card payments?
Yes. After Stripe setup, Koi can collect card payments online through a payment link. Koi charges 0.35% with a subscription, or 0.7% + $0.10 without one, plus Stripe processing fees. Payments recorded manually have no Koi fee.
Draft first, subscribe to send
Draft free. Subscribe to send unlimited invoices with your own logo and no watermark.
On Google Play now. Coming soon to iPhone. Have the app? Open it
iPhone and iPad, iOS 16.4 or later.
Where these numbers come from
Every Invoice Simple cell was read from their own pricing page on 7 September 2026, at US list prices in US dollars. Invoice Simple is read from its published plan comparison. Unlisted features and rates are marked as not stated. Platform fees are separate from processor fees. Report a correction.
Product names and logos belong to their owners. This comparison is not endorsed by or affiliated with Invoice Simple.