Invoice Koi Free generator

Invoice Koi vs Wave

Free is never the whole price.

Wave gives away invoicing with no cap, and the rest of the app is $19 a month for Pro. Invoice Koi is about US$8.33 a month, billed yearly, with every feature on one plan.

Last checked 7 September 2026. US list prices.

Make an invoice free

On Google Play now. Coming soon to iPhone. Have the app? Open it

Wave or Invoice Koi?

Wave is for the evening. Invoice Koi is for the driveway.

Choose Wave if

  • You want proper bookkeeping and bank feeds, which Invoice Koi does not do.
  • You want clients to pay by ACH bank transfer through the invoice.
  • You do your admin at a desk, on a computer.

Choose Invoice Koi if

  • You want to make the invoice standing in the customer's hallway, before you have left.
  • You want receipts, time and jobs on the same plan as the invoice, not a tier above it.
  • You want it to work with no signal.

What Wave is good at

Wave is real accounting given away. Double entry, bank feeds, expenses, reports, card payments and ACH, free, from a company that has been doing it for years.

The catch

It is an accounting product that also makes invoices, and it is priced like one: the reminders, the receipt scanning and the extras that make it pleasant sit on Pro at $19 a month. It is also a desk product. Nobody does their books on a driveway.

The ten rows that decide it

Switch between the free plans and the cheapest paid plans.

Compare
What each one gives away, before any money changes hands.
Feature Invoice Koi Wave
Best for One person invoicing from a phone, between jobs Free bookkeeping, done at a desk
What it costs Free to start; subscribe to send Free, no invoice cap
Invoices Drafts only No cap
Estimates or quotes Drafts only Cap not stated
Clients Yes, for drafts Cap not stated
Invoices free of vendor branding Not in free Included
Accept card payments Not in free 2.9% + 60c
Receipt scanning Not in free Not in free
Jobs and job organization Not in free Not offered
Users on the account Not in free Number not stated
Web access Not offered Included
Sync and backup across devices Not in free Included
What the cheapest paid plan holds. A paid plan includes its own free tier, so anything free is in here too.
Feature Invoice Koi Wave
Best for One person invoicing from a phone, between jobs Free bookkeeping, done at a desk
What it costs Subscription, with a free trial where your store offers one $19 a month for Pro
Invoices No cap No cap
Estimates or quotes No cap Cap not stated
Clients No cap Cap not stated
Invoices free of vendor branding Included Included
Accept card payments Included 2.9% + 0c
Receipt scanning Included Included
Jobs and job organization Included Not offered
Users on the account 1 user, crew plans add seats Number not stated
Web access Not offered Included
Sync and backup across devices Included Included
All 59 features, and the tier each one sits in

A paid tier includes its own free tier, so a mark means available at that price or below. Of the 59, 4 are better here, 4 better in Wave, 19 tied, and 32 neither, or not stated.

Invoice Koi's subscription against Wave's cheapest way in. A paid tier includes its own free tier, so a mark means available at that price or below.
Feature Invoice Koisubscription Wavefree, no invoice cap Who has it
Documents
Invoices ○ ● Tied
Estimates or quotes ○ ● Tied
Clients ○ ● Tied
Turn an estimate into an invoice ○ ● Tied
Recurring invoices ○ · Not stated
Credit notes ○ · Not stated
Work orders – · Not stated
Change orders – · Not stated
Client contracts – · Not stated
Document or project templates ○ · Not stated
Price book of saved items ○ · Not stated
How the document looks
Your logo on the document ○ ○ Tied
Your brand or accent color ○ ○ Tied
Choice of templates ○ · Not stated
Invoices free of vendor branding ○ ● Tied
Rename the field labels ○ · Not stated
Photos and attachments ○ · Not stated
Terms and conditions block ○ · Not stated
License and insurance details – · Not stated
Your own signature ○ · Not stated
Client e-signature ○ – Invoice Koi
Getting paid
Accept card payments ○ 2.9% + 60c Tied
Bank transfer or ACH – 1% Them
Tap to Pay in person – · Not stated
Deposits or milestone payments ○ · Not stated
Record partial payments ○ ● Tied
Pass processing fees to the client – · Not stated
Tips – · Not stated
Automatic payment reminders ○ ○ Tied
Overdue alerts to you ○ · Not stated
Know the invoice was opened – · Not stated
A link the client opens ○ ● Tied
Client statements ○ · Not stated
Homeowner financing – · Not stated
Lending or capital for you – · Not stated
Running the business
Expense tracking ○ ● Tied
Receipt scanning ○ ○ Tied
Time tracking ○ · Not stated
Jobs and job organization ○ – Invoice Koi
Schedule visits or a calendar ○ – Invoice Koi
Routing or GPS – – Neither
Reports ○ ● Tied
Export CSV, spreadsheet or PDF ○ ● Tied
Accounting sync – ● Them
Bank feed import – ○ Them
Barcode scanner – · Not stated
Leads or a CRM – · Not stated
Track client activity ○ · Not stated
Request client reviews – · Not stated
A marketing site for you – · Not stated
An AI assistant ○ · Not stated
Voice note into an invoice ○ · Not stated
Read a document and answer on it ○ – Invoice Koi
Account and scale
Mobile app ○ ● Tied
Web access – ● Them
Sync and backup across devices ○ ● Tied
Users on the account 1 user, crew plans add seats ● Tied
More than one business ○ · Not stated
Priority support one to two days paid add-on Tied
  • ● In the free tier
  • ○ In the cheapest paid plan
  • ▲ Only on a higher plan
  • – Not offered
  • · Not stated on their page
  • 3 a month Included, but capped or charged at this rate

What is free, and what the subscription buys

Setting up your business and writing drafts is free. Issuing an invoice, estimate or receipt needs a subscription. Eligible new iOS subscribers: two weeks free on annual, one week on weekly. Nothing starts until you confirm the purchase. Without a trial, the displayed price applies immediately.

Before you subscribe Drafts nothing is issued yet
  • Install the app and set up your business
  • Add your clients and your price book
  • Write drafts of invoices and estimates
Subscription US$99.99/year about US$8.33 a month, billed yearly or US$9.99/week, US App Store solo prices
  • Send unlimited invoices, estimates and receipts
  • Cloud storage for every photograph, on any phone
  • Unlimited AI scanning of receipts and documents
  • AI voice notes into invoices, no daily limit
  • Priority support, in one to two working days

US App Store solo prices. Prices and offers vary by country and store. Your local price appears in the app before purchase. Renews automatically until cancelled in your store account settings. Your records stay yours. After expiry, view, export or resend issued records and record or collect outstanding payments. New documents need a subscription or eligible trial, except where existing access is preserved. Existing customers keep their promised core document access.

Switching from Wave

If Wave can export your clients or items as a spreadsheet (CSV), Invoice Koi reads the file, matches the columns by their headings and only ever adds: nothing already on your phone is removed. You can do it before you subscribe.

Common questions

Is Invoice Koi cheaper than Wave?

As checked on 7 September 2026, Wave's free plan allows invoicing with no cap, and its cheapest paid plan is $19 a month for Pro. Invoice Koi is free to set up and draft in, and sending is an annual solo plan at US$99.99 billed yearly (about US$8.33 a month), or a weekly solo plan at US$9.99 billed weekly (US App Store prices). The app shows your local price from the store, with any free trial you are eligible for, before you buy. If Wave's free plan is enough for you, it costs less than any subscription.

What does Wave do that Invoice Koi does not?

Four things, including “Bank transfer or ACH”, “Accounting sync” and “Bank feed import”. If one of those is what you need, Wave is the better pick.

Does Invoice Koi take card payments?

Yes. After Stripe setup, Koi can collect card payments online through a payment link. Koi charges 0.35% with a subscription, or 0.7% + $0.10 without one, plus Stripe processing fees. Payments recorded manually have no Koi fee.

Draft first, subscribe to send

Draft free. Subscribe to send unlimited invoices with your own logo and no watermark.

Make an invoice free

On Google Play now. Coming soon to iPhone. Have the app? Open it

iPhone and iPad, iOS 16.4 or later.

Where these numbers come from

Every Wave cell was read from their own pricing page on 7 September 2026, at US list prices in US dollars. Wave is read from its published plan comparison. Unlisted features and rates are marked as not stated. Platform fees are separate from processor fees. Report a correction.

Product names and logos belong to their owners. This comparison is not endorsed by or affiliated with Wave.